Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy: Prithvi Shaw shines as Mumbai thrash Goa

first_imgYoung prodigy Prithvi Shaw found his mojo back as domestic giants Mumbai Monday cantered to a fourth straight win in the Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy, hammering Goa by six wickets in a Group C game of the T20 tournament in Indore.Earlier, Mumbai had defeated Sikkim, Punjab and Madhya Pradesh in the premier domestic T20 tournament.Mumbai rode on Shaw’s blazing 71 off just 47 balls to reach the target of 140 with 10 balls to spare. Shaw, who struggled in the last three games, finally found momentum and registered his first fifty of the tournament.The 19-year-old batsman’s quickfire knock was studded with five boundaries and seven sixes.Skipper Ajinkya Rahane (31) played his part to perfection as the duo laid the foundation stone of the win with a 95-run opening stand.Mumbai slumped to 117/4 from a healthy 95/1, but experienced Surya Kumar Yadav (24 not out) steered the side home at the Emeralds Heights International School Ground.Earlier, Mumbai bowlers did a decent job to restrict Goa to 140 for 4 in their 20 overs.Goa openers Sagun Kamat (27) and skipper Amogh Desai (38) got starts, but were unable to convert them into big scores.The duo added 58 runs for the first wicket, but both fell in quick succession.One-down Amit Verma (27) and wicket-keeper Keenan (26) were also looking good, but Mumbai bowlers sent them back to the pavilion before they could consolidate further.Mumbai bowlers – Dhawal Kulkarni (1-31), Shardul Thakur (1-25), Shubham Ranjane (1-19) and Shams Mulani (1-20) – put in collective efforts to deny Goa a big score.advertisementBrief scores: At Indore: Goa 140/4 (Amogh Desai 38, Sagun Kamat 27; Shubham Ranjane 1-19) lost to Mumbai 141/4 (Prithvi Shaw 71, Ajinkya Rahane 31; Vijesh Prabhudesai 1-11) by six wickets.Mumbai 4 points, Goa 0 points.At Indore (Holkar Stadium): Madhya Pradesh 159/6 (Naman Ojha 74, Parth Sahani 40; Amit Mishra 3-19) lost to Railways 161/5 (P S Singh 61, Ashish Yadav 32 not out; Mihir Hirwani 3/20) by five wickets.Railways 4 points, MP 0 points.At Holkar Stadium: Sikkim 75 (Milind 28, Nilesh Lamichaney 13; Jaydev Unadkat 2-9) lost to Saurashtra 79/3 (Cheteshwar Pujara 39 not out, Sheldon Jackson 24; B B Sharma 3-23) by seven wickets.Saurastra 4 points, Sikkim 0 points.At Surat: C B Patel ground: Vidarbha 117 (J M Sharma 49, Atharva Taide 23; S K K Ahmed 5-18, Nathu Singh 2-11) won against Rajasthan 73 (M N Singh 24, Robin Bist 22; Akshay Karnewar 4-7, R L Jangid 2-11) by 44 runs.Vidarbha 4 points, Rajasthan 0 points.At Lalbhai Contractor Stadium: Tamil Nadu 125/6 (N S Chaturved 34, M S Washington Sundar 33; A Nagwaswalla 3-11, Piyush Chawla 2-16) won against Gujarat 124 all out (Chirag Gandhi 68 not out, Priyank Panchal 14; Washington Sundar 2-10, R Sai Kishore 1-19) by 1 run.Tamil Nadu 4 points, Gujarat 0 points.At Lalbhai Contractor Stadium: Bihar 78 all out (Asfahan Khan 25, Piyush Kumar Singh 21; G K Singh 2-11, Ankit Rajan Maini 2-14) lost to Himachal Pradesh 81/1 (A K Bains 54 not out, P S Chopra 14; Samar Quadri 1-14) by nine wickets.Himachal Pradesh 4 points, Bihar 0 points.Also Watch:last_img

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *